Places Journal https://placesjournal.org Public scholarship on architecture, landscape, and urbanism Mon, 09 Dec 2019 14:45:46 +0000 en-us hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.1.3 University of Arkansas Hosts Places Board and Lecture https://placesjournal.org/news/places-board-meeting-and-lecture-at-the-university-of-arkansas/ Tue, 26 Nov 2019 22:12:56 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=news&p=59853 On November 15-17, Places board members gathered at the University of Arkansas for the 2019 board meeting and the inaugural Places Journal lecture in public scholarship in architecture, landscape and urbanism. On November 15-17, Places board members gathered at the University of Arkansas for the 2019 board meeting and the inaugural Places Journal lecture in public scholarship in architecture, landscape and urbanism.

Read on Places Journal

]]>
David Goldblatt and the Indeterminate Landscape https://placesjournal.org/article/david-goldblatt-and-the-indeterminate-landscape-south-africa/ Tue, 26 Nov 2019 16:56:16 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=article&p=59687 The South African David Goldblatt spent seven decades photographing the still-unfinished project of building equitable cities, towns, and infrastructures in his nation — and beyond. The South African David Goldblatt spent seven decades photographing the still-unfinished project of building equitable cities, towns, and infrastructures in his nation — and beyond.

Read on Places Journal

David Goldblatt photograph

]]>
Announcing the Inaugural Oregon | Places Prize Winner https://placesjournal.org/news/oregon-places-prize-winner/ Fri, 15 Nov 2019 17:10:26 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=news&p=59591 Sara Jensen Carr has been selected as the 2019 recipient of the Oregon | Places Prize. Sara Jensen Carr has been selected as the 2019 recipient of the Oregon | Places Prize.

Read on Places Journal

]]>
The Middle of Everywhere https://placesjournal.org/article/the-flint-hills-middle-of-everywhere/ Tue, 12 Nov 2019 17:13:10 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=article&p=59235 In the Flint Hills of Kansas there are cattle ranches and art galleries, old barns and new architecture, ghost towns and growing cities. And there is the last stand of tallgrass prairie in America. In the Flint Hills of Kansas there are cattle ranches and art galleries, old barns and new architecture, ghost towns and growing cities. And there is the last stand of tallgrass prairie in America.

Read on Places Journal

]]>
The Paradox of Security https://placesjournal.org/article/the-paradox-of-security/ Tue, 29 Oct 2019 17:01:58 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=article&p=58951 Ecological security is a relatively new theme in design practice, and a resonant one. But we shouldn’t embrace the concept without considering the consequences. Ecological security is a relatively new theme in design practice, and a resonant one. But we shouldn’t embrace the concept without considering the consequences.

Read on Places Journal

]]>
Fugitive Libraries https://placesjournal.org/article/fugitive-libraries/ Tue, 22 Oct 2019 16:11:29 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=article&p=58910 In what ways do libraries act as ‘instruments of social control,’ and how could they be made into instruments of restoration, reparation, or transformation? In what ways do libraries act as ‘instruments of social control,’ and how could they be made into instruments of restoration, reparation, or transformation?

Read on Places Journal

]]>
The Bartlett Joins Places https://placesjournal.org/news/the-bartlett-joins-places/ Thu, 17 Oct 2019 18:16:15 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=news&p=58703 The Bartlett has become a member of Places’ international network of academic partners. The Bartlett has become a member of Places’ international network of academic partners.

Read on Places Journal

The Bartlett

]]>
The Twilight of Autopia https://placesjournal.org/article/the-twilight-of-autopia/ Tue, 15 Oct 2019 16:13:15 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=article&p=58393 The energy crisis of the 1970s destabilized American society and seemed to foretell the end of our auto-centric culture and oil-dependent politics. Back then we ignored the warnings. The energy crisis of the 1970s destabilized American society and seemed to foretell the end of our auto-centric culture and oil-dependent politics. Back then we ignored the warnings.

Read on Places Journal

]]>
Places Author Event on the L.A. River https://placesjournal.org/news/places-author-event-on-the-la-river/ Mon, 14 Oct 2019 11:06:13 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=news&p=58837 On Thursday 3 October, Places authors Vittoria Di Palma and Alex Robinson led a panel discussion on the future of the L.A. River, inspired by their article, “Willful Waters.” On Thursday 3 October, Places authors Vittoria Di Palma and Alex Robinson led a panel discussion on the future of the L.A. River, inspired by their article, “Willful Waters.”

Read on Places Journal

]]>
Brasília and the Populist Frontier https://placesjournal.org/article/brasilia-and-the-populist-frontier/ Tue, 08 Oct 2019 15:26:29 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=article&p=58588 In the late 1950s, the construction of Brazil’s new capital city was documented by government photographers who mythologized a new national identity. In the late 1950s, the construction of Brazil’s new capital city was documented by government photographers who mythologized a new national identity.

Read on Places Journal

Photos of the construction of Brasilia, from Revista Brasilia

]]>
Ten Years Online https://placesjournal.org/news/ten-years-online/ Mon, 07 Oct 2019 20:12:21 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=news&p=58420 This season Places is marking a happy milestone: our tenth anniversary as an online journal. This season Places is marking a happy milestone: our tenth anniversary as an online journal.

Read on Places Journal

]]>
Three Lavas https://placesjournal.org/article/three-lavas/ Tue, 01 Oct 2019 16:20:20 +0000 https://placesjournal.org/?post_type=article&p=58337 A survey of three lava fields that have catalyzed creative interventions: in Hawaiʻi, Iceland, and Mexico City. A survey of three lava fields that have catalyzed creative interventions: in Hawaiʻi, Iceland, and Mexico City.

Read on Places Journal

]]>